Type to search

Actor News

Tokusatsu Actors and Actresses Among Nominees for the 41st Japan Academy Prize


The 41st Japan Academy Prize has announced its nominees for the best in films in 2017. The ceremony will take place on March 2, 2018 in Tokyo, Japan.

Two former Kamen Rider actors will be competing in the “Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role” category. Takeru Satoh, who portrayed Ryotaro Nogami in Kamen Rider Den-O for the film, The 8-Year Engagement. Masaki Suda, who portrayed Philip in Kamen Rider W, was nominated for his role in Wilderness: Part One.

Tao Tsuchiya, who portrayed Princess Emerana Luludo Esmeralda in Ultraman Zero: The Revenge of Belial, was also nominated for the “Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role” category. Masami Nagasawa, Shobijin of Godzilla: Final Wars and Godzilla: Tokyo SOS will be competing with her in this category.

Ryuhei Matsuda of Cutey Honey 2004 was nominated in the “Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role” category for The Last Shot in the Bar.

In the “Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role”, Keiko Kitagawa, who portrayed Rei Hino/Sailor Mars in the Sailor Moon Live Action show was nominated. She will be competing against Hiroko Yakushimaru, Yoko Kaneda in Tetsujin 28-Gō (2005), for The 8-Year Engagement.

Among the “Newcomer of the Year”, Ryoma Takeuchi, known for his role as Shinnosuke Tomari/Kamen Rider Drive, was nominated for Teiichi: Battle of Supreme High.



Official Website: 41st Japan Academy Prize
Article Sources: ModelPress


All translation content is provided by Daisuki Toku. All translations are created to the best of our ability. If using this translation, please refer to Sourcing Info on how to link back to Daisuki Toku on your website and on social media.